Rockbox Technical Forums

Installation / Removal => Manual Installation => Toshiba - Installation/Removal => Topic started by: cdeanp on July 16, 2007, 04:41:56 PM

Title: No .rockbox directory - Installationn incomplete
Post by: cdeanp on July 16, 2007, 04:41:56 PM
I recently attempted to switch to rockbox software as the gigabeat started acting very sporadic.  I first tried to upgrade the firmware (I had 2.02) but that didn't work.  Something about an incomplete upgrade and it kicked back down to 2.02.  I did all the steps that I found here (download the zip file, download the fwimg01, extract all the zip files to the root of the gigabeat, rename the fwimg01.dat file to fwimg01.dat.orig, move the new file to the subdirectory, disconnect the usb, turn off the power, slide the battery switch off (for 1 minute)and turn it back on).  The version of rockbox I downloaded is r13861-070712.  When I turn it back on, it shows "No .rockbox directory" "Installationn incomplete".  It shows several files and a couple of directories.  I copied some mp3 songs into a new directory and when I try to play them, it says something about no codecs.  If I go to the database section, it states "database is not ready, Initialize now".  Then it shows "building database... 0 found".  Going to the version section, it shows "can't open .rockbox/rocks/credits.rock".  Where did I go wrong?
Title: Re: No .rockbox directory - Installationn incomplete
Post by: Phalangees on July 16, 2007, 04:48:47 PM
Double check you have the most recent FWIMG01.DAT and rockbox.zip
Title: Re: No .rockbox directory - Installation incomplete
Post by: cdeanp on July 16, 2007, 09:37:17 PM
I downloaded the rockbox zip files from http://www.rockbox.org/dl.cgi?bin=gigabeatf and the fwimg.dat from http://www.rockbox.org/twiki/bin/viewfile/Main/GigabeatFXPort?rev=1;filename=FWIMG01.DAT.  How do you know if the dat file is the latest?  I will try it again.

The steps I followed were posted by dsweet in Jannuary.  Did I miss something?
Title: Re: No .rockbox directory - Installationn incomplete
Post by: GodEater on July 17, 2007, 02:21:33 AM
Why are you following steps "posted" by someone in January, and not following the steps as laid out in the manual ?
Title: Re: No .rockbox directory - Installationn incomplete
Post by: Febs on July 17, 2007, 05:43:14 AM
It sounds like you did not extract the complete contents of the rockbox.zip file to the root of your player.  Go to the "current build" page, download the most recent build, and extract it to the root of your player.
Title: Re: No .rockbox directory - Installation incomplete
Post by: cdeanp on July 17, 2007, 06:25:35 PM

Why are you following steps "posted" by someone in January, and not following the steps as laid out in the manual ?

Only because I didn't run across the manual until after I had attemped it the first time.  I did find it before the second try and running through it resulted in the same end result.  I'll look at the manual again to see if anything changed.
Title: Re: No .rockbox directory - Installationn incomplete
Post by: cdeanp on July 17, 2007, 06:28:42 PM

It sounds like you did not extract the complete contents of the rockbox.zip file to the root of your player.  Go to the "current build" page, download the most recent build, and extract it to the root of your player.

Is there a way to extract "most" but not all of the files?  I have WinZip and double clicked on the rockbox zip file, which opens it, then I clicked 'extract' and pointed it to the root of the gigabeat.  I've tried it twice, but can again.
Title: Re: No .rockbox directory - Installationn incomplete
Post by: Phalangees on July 17, 2007, 09:26:55 PM
Just double checking but when you say the root of your gigabeat you mean in WinZip you click on the little gigabeat icon and then click extract right?
Title: Re: No .rockbox directory - Installationn incomplete
Post by: cdeanp on July 17, 2007, 10:31:58 PM

Just double checking but when you say the root of your gigabeat you mean in WinZip you click on the little gigabeat icon and then click extract right?

When my gigabeat is connected to the PC, it shows up as drive P:\Gigabeat.  I have the rockbox.zip file on my local C:\ drive.  When I double click the zip file, it opens WinZip, and I browse to the P:\ drive and click the extract button.  Through windows Explorer, it looks like all the files have been extracted to the gigabeat.
Title: Re: No .rockbox directory - Installationn incomplete
Post by: GodEater on July 18, 2007, 01:52:52 AM
Could you post us a screenshot of this windows explorer view where you can see this ?
Title: Re: No .rockbox directory - Installationn incomplete
Post by: Phalangees on July 18, 2007, 10:48:39 PM
Yeah a screenshot would be nice. Just to make sure. It's not that we don't believe you.

Do you also have the bootloader (FWIMG01.DAT) located under "P:/Gigabeat/GBSYSTEM/FWIMG/" ?
Title: Re: No .rockbox directory - Installationn incomplete
Post by: cdeanp on July 23, 2007, 11:31:14 AM

Yeah a screenshot would be nice. Just to make sure. It's not that we don't believe you.

Do you also have the bootloader (FWIMG01.DAT) located under "P:/Gigabeat/GBSYSTEM/FWIMG/" ?

Sorry for the delay in responding. I left for vacation (without the player).  Just got back to it last night.  I got it running by doing the following.  I redownloaded the rockbox.zip and the fwimg01.dat files.  I noticed that the file size of the dat went from 50kb to 65, so something had changed. Anyway, I also noticed that there was not a .rockbox folder on the gigabeat.  I proceeeded to remove all the files that were extracted to the root from the first attempt. I then re-extracted the rockbox.zip files (this time I used the Win XP zip utility). This time it created the .rockbox folder and subfolders. I moved the new fwimg01 file into place (after renaming the previous one). Turned it off, switched off the battery for 15 seconds and then fired it back up.  It came up and gave an error -2 and then locked up. I rebooted it back into the gigabeat firmware, restored all of the files that did not have "rock" in the title or extension, that I had previously deleted and replaced the DAT file.  That still caused an error (-1 I think). I then took an older version of the fwimg01.dat that I had downloaded from July 13th and used it.  It worked... go figure.  Thanks for helping and giving suggestions.  On a side question, What files HAVE to remain at the root level?  I have a bunch with names like afrikaans, aniX-X, bt-color-big, codec-xxx, czech (and other languages), pop rock classical (which seem to be eq), vxx-color, volx-b.
Title: Re: No .rockbox directory - Installationn incomplete
Post by: bascule on July 23, 2007, 11:51:03 AM

On a side question, What files HAVE to remain at the root level?


For the Rockbox firmware itself, none. All necessary files are in the /.rockbox folder.

Obviously you must not delete the /GBSYSTEM folder, as it contains critical files for the OF and Rockbox bootloaders.

Everything else is personal preference...