Rockbox Technical Forums

Rockbox Development => Starting Development and Compiling => Topic started by: hydroo on January 16, 2008, 11:54:23 AM

Title: Building only a plugin
Post by: hydroo on January 16, 2008, 11:54:23 AM
According to http://www.rockbox.org/twiki/bin/view/Main/HowtoWritePlugins I have to make;make install the whole simulator to be able to test my plugin.

Now this takes a bit long. Is there no other way?

regards
Title: Re: Building only a plugin
Post by: saratoga on January 16, 2008, 12:29:04 PM
You could remove other plugins from the build list, but you still need to build rockbox at the same time.
Title: Re: Building only a plugin
Post by: hydroo on January 16, 2008, 01:23:17 PM
I already did that.
And I am using ccache and whatnot and am running linux natively anyways. So there isn't much to speed up I guess.
~20-30secs is just ... well :(.

It encourages to read twice before testing.

So is this mandatory(by design) or just bad Makefiles?
(I am pretty new to this. Made my helloworld yesterday)

thanks for the quick response.

regards
Title: Re: Building only a plugin
Post by: saratoga on January 16, 2008, 01:26:48 PM
I already did that.

So is this mandatory(by design) or just bad Makefiles?

Plugins cannot work without rockbox, so theres no sense in letting you build them without it.
Title: Re: Building only a plugin
Post by: hydroo on January 16, 2008, 01:29:33 PM
Because they are linked statically?

I am pretty good at c, unix/linux and stuff. So you can give me details :P. I am curious.

Rephrased:
Why can I not build and install the simulator separately from the plugins.
/Every plugin for itself. (e.g. by specifying the plugin as a target)
Title: Re: Building only a plugin
Post by: Bagder on January 16, 2008, 01:50:59 PM
Because plugins depend on the plugin struct used in Rockbox.

I would say that the main reason you can't build a single plugin is that the make system isn't written to allow that in an easy manner...

Besides, once you've build the whole lot once running make to just build the changes in a single plugin that you make is not that time consuming.
Title: Re: Building only a plugin
Post by: hydroo on January 16, 2008, 01:54:24 PM
"installing a full setup in your archos dir"
takes a while.

(Not the actual building - it's probably copying unzipping or something like that)

thanks for your help
Title: Re: Building only a plugin
Post by: Bagder on January 16, 2008, 02:39:25 PM
Well, you don't have to run 'make install' if you insist. You can copy the actual plugin .so file to the correct install place...
Title: Re: Building only a plugin
Post by: hydroo on January 16, 2008, 02:48:51 PM
I managed. Thank you.

$ make
$ cp apps/plugins/whatever.rock to archos/.rockbox/rocks/categoryxxx/

works fine

regards