Rockbox Technical Forums

Support and General Use => Hardware => Topic started by: phil8715 on June 09, 2018, 08:33:51 PM

Title: Sansa Fuze+ very unstable
Post by: phil8715 on June 09, 2018, 08:33:51 PM
I installed Rockbox onto my SanDisk Sansa Fuze+ and I've noticed it's very unstable.

In the information it calls it a stable port but the installer says unstable.

One of issues is when I've finished playing a playlist and want to either play another playlist or even play the same playlist it says nothing to resume.

Also it sometimes get stuck in a section of a menu in which you can't get out of unless you reboot the player, I've noticed it also freezes quite a lot.

Is anyone still working on the Sansa Fuze + port?
Title: Re: Sanaa Fuze+ very unstable
Post by: saratoga on June 09, 2018, 08:37:31 PM
Also it sometimes get stuck in a section of a menu in which you can't get out of unless you reboot the player, I've noticed it also freezes quite a lot.

I don't use the Fuze+ much, but I've never noticed this.  Can you give an example?

Is anyone still working on the Sansa Fuze + port?

I don't think there is much left to be done on the Fuze+ port specifically, but various people with the player are still active in development.
Title: Re: Sanaa Fuze+ very unstable
Post by: Bilgus on June 10, 2018, 04:32:46 AM
What version are you using is it 3.14 or the latest DEV?
If latest DEV try a bit older DEV version just in case my/our latest updates broke something
If you are using 3.14 try the latest DEV version as there have been a few updates since the last official version.

I use the fuze+ and haven't noticed anything like this as of late..
Title: Re: Sanaa Fuze+ very unstable
Post by: phil8715 on June 10, 2018, 09:05:32 AM
How can I tell which version is the latest or earliest?
Title: Re: Sanaa Fuze+ very unstable
Post by: __builtin on June 10, 2018, 09:12:47 AM
From memory, you can go to System > Rockbox Info and see the version number there.
Title: Re: Sanaa Fuze+ very unstable
Post by: phil8715 on June 10, 2018, 09:16:16 AM
Also it sometimes get stuck in a section of a menu in which you can't get out of unless you reboot the player, I've noticed it also freezes quite a lot.

I don't use the Fuze+ much, but I've never noticed this.  Can you give an example?

Is anyone still working on the Sansa Fuze + port?

I don't think there is much left to be done on the Fuze+ port specifically, but various people with the player are still active in development.

When for example I either accidentally because the touch pad is a bit too sensitive at times, or I want to play an album, when I've played it I can't exit from the album, the only way to get out is to reboot.
Title: Re: Sanaa Fuze+ very unstable
Post by: phil8715 on June 10, 2018, 09:24:08 AM
This is the version I'm running : 9a9c712-180605
Title: Re: Sanaa Fuze+ very unstable
Post by: phil8715 on June 10, 2018, 12:54:21 PM
I've also found another bug. When I attempt to play one of the playlists I select it and starts playing a random track that isn't in any of the playlists.
Title: Re: Sanaa Fuze+ very unstable
Post by: Bilgus on June 10, 2018, 05:43:31 PM
That'd be the latest DEV build
Try 3.14 and see if the problems persist
https://www.rockbox.org/download/byhand.cgi
Title: Re: Sanaa Fuze+ very unstable
Post by: phil8715 on June 10, 2018, 06:28:53 PM
I'm a bit confused. I've got 3.14 already installed. This is the version I'm having problems with. Or do I need an earlier version?
Title: Re: Sanaa Fuze+ very unstable
Post by: Bilgus on June 10, 2018, 09:13:51 PM
Looks to me like the dev version 9a9c7f2 built on 6-5-18
3.14 should just read 3.14
Title: Re: Sansa Fuze+ very unstable
Post by: Bilgus on June 10, 2018, 11:55:52 PM
Exiting from an album should be the reverse arrow on the upper left of the keypad

As far as playlists if its done it should say unable to resume till you select a new one

Some menus (selective keylock and backlight exemptions) need the left arrow on the keypad to Save & Exit once you've entered the settings menu
Are these the menus you couldn't exit?

Also some of the settings in these menus could cause you some confusion depending what you had set

First I would rename your current .rockbox folder prior to putting another version on the player to rule out config issues

next I'd try without the sdcard to rule out flaky SD

Also have a look at the manual to get a handle on the controls on this player if you are coming from a different player in the past

I have yet to be able to reproduce any freezing, possibly the other issues are just Rockbox not behaving how you expect but I'll be happy to check out anything reproducible and even consider changing how the menus act in selective keylock and backlight exemptions... perhaps a cancel menu item would help?