Rockbox Technical Forums

Installation / Removal => Rockbox Utility => Topic started by: wolfie138 on December 21, 2017, 03:35:07 PM

Title: Can't Get my Clip+ to Work :-(
Post by: wolfie138 on December 21, 2017, 03:35:07 PM
Hi all,

got Rockboxed a couple years back, but recently i've been trying to reorganise my CLip - most songs are on SD card but there's a bunch on the player i now want moved. Win 7 flat-out won't recognise the player. i'ver tried multiple ports, a couple of cables, and using RB and Sansa opsystems by booting w/ the LEft key pressed. the CLip, in Sansa mode, says connected, the puter won't list it as a drive so the Util can't find a mount. any ideas how i can sort this?

TIA
Title: Re: Can't Get my Clip+ to Work :-(
Post by: Bilgus on December 21, 2017, 03:49:18 PM
depending on what version you have on there it could just be flaky usb but if the OF won't either it is probably a hardware issue.. why not copy everything through the usb card?
Title: Re: Can't Get my Clip+ to Work :-(
Post by: wolfie138 on December 22, 2017, 03:52:26 AM
what do you mean, copy everything through the UBS card? Not sure how i can get to anything to copy it, w/ the OpSys not recognising it? I seem to have gone through everything from
- a connect-sound, disconnect-sound then nothing.
- a connect-sound, then just "unrecognised device" in the hardware list
- constantly repeating connect-sound/disconnect-sound
- a connect-sound, the Sansa discplay saying it's connected, but nothing showing up as a USB device or a drive or anything.

i'll try again tonight, taking the SD card out as well. if all fails i guess i'll just recopy stuff to the SD card, i just wanted to clean down and tidy up the player itself but it's looking like i'm not going to be able to have that option.
i'm using Win7 SP1, if that means anything, might try it on my Win 10 machine too, just to say i've covered all bases.

refresh me, just in case i've been doing stuff wrong - when i connect the Clip to the PC, am i supposed to have it switched on first?

cheers
Title: Re: Can't Get my Clip+ to Work :-(
Post by: wolfie138 on December 23, 2017, 12:17:14 PM
Update - seems to be working now :-)

tried hooking up to my WIn10 machine, had the same issues w/ Rockbox, so tried firing up in Sansa mode, and it mounted ok. the Utility found an update and installed it all no bother, and connecting to my Win 7 machine now seems fine too.