Rockbox Development > Starting Development and Compiling

Trying to apply a .diff to Rockbox for Sansa Clip+

(1/1)

1rms:
Hi all, newbie here so please be gentle  ;)

My device is a Sansa Clip+ and I’m trying to apply a patch to Rockbox to allow playback to be paused at power on of the device as per my post at this link: http://forums.rockbox.org/index.php/topic,52450.0.html. Developer Bilgus kindly offered to help, although I like to show willing at least, and I thought I’d have a go and see how far I could get.

I am working in the VirtualBox Ubuntu environment downloaded via the link in the DevelopmentGuide, and have downloaded Rockbox from Git. I’ve read through the "Working with patches" Wiki. From that, I have placed the .diff file in the Rockbox folder, run Terminal in that folder and using the command “patch < patchfile”. Terminal starts to run but stops at “File to patch:" with a blinking cursor. I’ve mainly guessed at doing these steps as some of the tech wording goes over my head, I’m in my 60’s after all. I also tried adding -p0 or -p1 or -p2 etc. without success.

I also compiled Rockbox to a “Build” folder and tried applying the patch within that folder with the same result. At this point my braincell runs away to hide in a dark corner lol.

As mentioned I’m a newbie and have little experience of the command line environment, compiling or development. I’d greatly appreciate the assistance of a wise guru to help this dummy through this please. Ask away for further information if needed and I’ll do my best provide it. Thanks.

Here’s what shows in Terminal:

rock@osboxes:~/rockbox$ patch < 0909354.diff
can't find file to patch at input line 26
Perhaps you should have used the -p or --strip option?
The text leading up to this was:
--------------------------
|From 09093543f9bd7e3d18211f7fe842ef5643e7e92b Mon Sep 17 00:00:00 2001
|From: William Wilgus <me.theuser@yahoo.com>
|Date: Wed, 22 Nov 2017 00:06:32 +0100